Login
New User

Welcome to AOAS.ORG
Wednesday, April 24 2024 @ 12:15 am EDT

Forum Index > Astro-Imaging > Digital Imaging New Topic Post Reply
 digital Imaging Question
 |  Printable Version
nspace01
 Thursday, April 10 2008 @ 05:15 pm EDT (Read 4518 times)  
Forum Sage
Sage

I am just starting out in Astrophotography and have a question............

Instead of stacking many images to assemble a final image, wouldn't work as well to take one good image, make a hundred copies and stack them? Eek!

I bought a Supercurcuit 0.003 lux PC164C b/w camera a couple of years ago.....from stuff I read on the web it ought to work well for prime focus imaging.

Between that camera, my Nikon FG (35mm) and a Nikon 4500 Digital (Afocal) I ought to be able to make some purdy pictures.............. Rolling Eyes

nSpace01

Profile Email
tricks46
 Thursday, April 10 2008 @ 06:54 pm EDT  
Forum Sage
Sage

Digital works both ways. You can take a single 5 minute image or 5x1 minute images. The information build up would be the same. Reasons for the shorter exposure would be your tracking abilities. Errors occur with longer exposures. The other advantage of more exposure is to keep the noise down with faint objects like a small comet or DSO. It is like pouring salt from a shaker---the more you pour the more information you get and the less amount of noise. Hope this helps
Mike

Profile Email Website
LME
 Saturday, April 12 2008 @ 06:20 pm EDT  
Forum Sage
Sage

Another reason to use multible short exposures for example is the Orion Nebula. It is a fairly bright object and taking too long of an exposure could blow out (over expose) the core and what Mike said about tracking errors. Long exposures will increase the risk of star trails and camera noise. You can get alot of data from 1min. Unforntunatly I do not have those problems, because none of my camera equipment is capable of more than 15sec. Frown Maybe after I get my 8" Newt, but don't tell my wife... Wink

Larry

Clear Skies-Larry