Login
New User

Welcome to AOAS.ORG
Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 06:03 am EDT

Forum Index > Equipment > Telescopes and Accessories New Topic Post Reply
 hello From a New Star Seeker in VB Ar
 |  Printable Version
Keith Bibbs
 Thursday, July 14 2005 @ 09:09 am EDT (Read 3298 times)  
Forum Newbie

Hello all I am new to Astronomy I just Got a Telescope a Mead DS2130 Reflector with Auto Star. I hope to get to come to some Meeting soon would like to Get some instruction on how to Use the telesope. I Have Looked at the Moon with the auto star Off. I Have found some Info on the Internet on how to use the auto star and I Have Tryed to Use it. But I think I am doing some thing Wrong. I will Play with it this weekend if the Sky is Good the Moon will be very Bright this weekend I Know but I will be out there playing around.

Profile Email
bobmoody
 Saturday, July 16 2005 @ 03:37 pm EDT  
Forum Sage
Sage

Hi, Keith!

Beginning astronomy can sometimes be a little bit daunting, but you've made a good first choice; ask others who are knowledgeable for advice and help when needed. We have this evening scheduled for public observing at Coleman Observatory.

You can click on the "Coleman Observatory" button in the Main Menu and find a printable map to the site. Make SURE you follow the written directions. We usually start observing at around 8:30 this time of year so feel free to join us this evening IF THE WEATHER COOPERATES.

If it's cloudy tonight, I'll be happy to help you with your telescope on any other clear night. I'm usually here but it's best to give me an email message the day before you'd like to visit if possible. I'm teaching my "Basics of Astronomy" classes on Thursday evenings and that would be a good time to join us. Classes run until around 8:30-8:45 and we observe every Thursday evening that weather permits, so you might join us then if you want to.