Login
New User

Welcome to AOAS.ORG
Tuesday, April 23 2024 @ 05:14 am EDT

Forum Index > Observing > Solar System New Topic Post Reply
 73P/Schwassmann-Wachmann 3 (2006)
 |  Printable Version
Tomek
 Thursday, November 10 2005 @ 10:57 am EST (Read 4209 times)  
Forum Junior
Junior

I would like to ask astronomers what about what is result of obserwation of this comet in this moment .

Are this comet have still 3 components , and could it have 2 mag in may 2006 like we can see it here

http://www.aerith.net/comet/catalog/0073P/2006.html

Profile Email
bobmoody
 Thursday, November 10 2005 @ 03:44 pm EST  
Forum Sage
Sage

Rolling Eyes I am not an expert on comets, but after checking the link you provided, it appears that periodic comet 73P/Schwassmann-Wachmann 3 will reach perihelion on June 6, 2006. It should attain 2nd magnitude (+/-) around two-to-three weeks before perihelion.

It should be at least 3rd magnitude when it begins crossing through the constellation of Hercules on May 1st/2nd. It will pass rapidly through Lyra close to the Ring Nebula (M-57) on or about May 8th/9th, through the "neck" of Cygnus on May 10th/11th, Vulpecula on May 12th, onward through the neck of Pegasus on May 17th and through the "Circlet of Pisces" on May 22nd. It is expected to be 2nd magnitude as it passes rapidly through these latter constellations.

Let's all keep our fingers crossed that it lives up to these expectations, that the moon will not interfere with the viewing, and that our own comet photographer, Mike Holloway, gets lots of great pictures as 73P/Schwassmann-Wachmann 3 "does its thing" for Earthly observers this next spring and summer.